CTS Committee Holds Kickoff Meeting

About the NCFMP Program Goals Statewide Mapping Summary CTS
This website is a free service provided by the State of North Carolina. The latest information on the Floodplain Mapping program is provided here. Learn about the State's partners in this project.
News Archives

The inaugural meeting of the State of North Carolina's Cooperating Technical State (CTS) Committee was held in Raleigh on October 17, 2000. The CTS Committee, which was established through North Carolina's CTS Agreement with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), is a cornerstone of North Carolina's CTS Flood Mapping Program. During the meeting, John Dorman, the CTS Flood Mapping Program Director and Chair of the CTS Committee, presented an overview of the NC CTS Flood Mapping Program and the responsibilities of the Committee.

The Committee, in close collaboration and coordination with the North Carolina Division of Emergency Management (NCDEM) and FEMA, will be responsible for the following activities:

  • Strategic planning for program direction and associated activities;
  • Providing input and feedback regarding data and products;
  • Facilitating multi-level government coordination;
  • Providing technical and programmatic expertise and advice; and
  • Reviewing and concurring on Mapping Activity Statement Agreements.

The CTS Committee is comprised of stakeholders from Federal, State, County, and local government agencies, as well as several North Carolina professional associations and the academic community. The inclusion on the Committee of a wide range of partners in the CTS Flood Mapping Program and "customers" of flood mapping products will help to ensure the success of the program. The following is a listing of the Committee members:

Federal agencies:

  • FEMA
  • USGS
  • NASA
  • EPA
  • NOAA
  • HUD
  • NOAA
  • NWS
  • SBA
  • EDA
  • DOT
  • USDA

State agencies:

  • NCGS
  • CGIA
  • Land Records Management Div.
  • DENR
  • NC Office of Information Technology
  • Dept. of Insurance

State and local organizations:

  • General Assembly
  • GICC/ Mapping Advisory Committee
  • League of Municipalities
  • Association of County Commissioners
  • North Carolina State University

Local government agencies:

  • Greensboro
  • Asheville
  • Lenoir County
  • Wake County
  • New Hanover County
  • Charlotte/Mecklenberg County

Technical advisors:

  • NC Floodplain Managers Association
  • Professional Engineers of NC
  • NC Society of Surveyors
  • ASPRS, NC Chapter
  • URISA, NC Chapter
  • NC Citizens for Business and Industry
  • FGDC
  • Open GIS Consortium

The Committee is chaired by John Dorman of the OSBPM. Mr. Dorman is also the Chair of the Executive Committee, which will be responsible for day-to-day oversight of the program. Membership on the Executive Committee includes CGIA, NCGS, DEM, and FEMA. The Executive Committee will refer items to the overall Committee.

In addition to the Executive Committee, the overall Committee will consist of Technical Working Groups, which will focus on specific technical and programmatic areas. Three groups have already been established, and others will be established as needed. The established groups are the Post-Flood Hazard Verification Working Group, chaired by Gavin Smith, NCDEM; the Information Technology Working Group, chaired by Karen Siderelis of the CGIA; and the Topographic Data Working Group, chaired by Gary Thompson of the NCGS.

Initially, the Committee will meet monthly: on November 14, 2000; December 12, 2000; January 16, 2001; and February 13, 2001. Subsequently, meetings will be held bimonthly.